Former Collin College student Maria Burbano received the prestigious Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program Award at The University of Texas at Dallas. She was one of 283 students across the nation selected to receive the scholarship out of 1,166 students. In 2012, she received a Hi-TeCC transfer scholarship from Collin College to UTD.

Professor of English R. Scott Yarbrough’s poetry was recently published in “The Evansville Review,” “Voices De La Luna” and in “A Texas Garden of Verses: An Anthology of Texas Poetry.” His work was also nominated for the Pushcart Poetry Prize.

Both Collin College respiratory care teams made it to the “final four” competition at the Texas Society for Respiratory Care Annual Convention’s Sputum Bowl in San Antonio. As the last two teams standing, they had to compete against one another for the final win. The students will represent Collin College at the American Association for Respiratory Care Annual Convention in Las Vegas this November.  First place winners were Shannon Harden, Kelsey Edinger, Codi Gallaway and Victoria Theobalt. Second place winners were Mary Garcia, Stacy Robinson, Tom Skinner and Viviana Zabala.