Student Crystal Martinez received the 2015 NODA Region IV “Outstanding Undergraduate Student – Two Year Institution” award. NODA is the Association for Orientation, Transition and Retention in Higher Education and Region IV covers Texas, Arkansas, Missouri, Kansas and Oklahoma. This is the second year in a row a Collin College student has won the Two Year Institution category.

Student Shomari Harris was named a finalist for the 2015 Women’s Basketball Coaches Association Junior/Community College Player of the Year Award. 

Abe Johnson, dean of Academic Affairs for health sciences, natural sciences, emergency services and physical education, successfully defended his doctoral dissertation at Texas Tech University. 

Professor of English LaToya Watkins published her short story “Outsiders” in Her Texas: Story, Image, Poem & Song (Wings Press) this month. On March 28, WordSpace will present Professor Watkins as their special guest reader at the Wildcatter Exchange Festival.

Amy Evans, executive director of Collin College Foundation, passed the CFRE exam and is now a Certified Fundraising Executive. The certification serves as an impartial, third-party endorsement by “CFRE International” gauging an individual’s knowledge and experience against worldwide standards set for fundraising professionals exhibiting the highest standards of ethics, competence and service to the philanthropic sector.