The finalists for this year’s ROSE Awards were named at a ceremony at the Collin Higher Education Center, June 24.

The Recognition of Service and Excellence (ROSE) Awards recognizes dedication and hard work done for the college by a part-time and a full-time staff member, explained Stephen Rogers, this year’s ROSE Award Committee coordinator. Rogers said that the nominees regularly demonstrate the college’s core values – service and involvement, dignity and respect, academic excellence, integrity, learning, and creativity and innovation.

“You embody all of the core values that we believe in, and we are excited to honor each and every one of you today,” Rogers said.

All 41 of this year’s nominees were honored at the ceremony, and those present stood for a picture with Collin College District President Dr. H. Neil Matkin and All College Council Chair G’Anna Saunders.

Before announcing the finalists, Dr. Matkin remarked on the history of the ROSE Award, explaining that Sue Olivier, one of the college district’s founding members, passed out yellow silk roses as she collected signatures to help establish the college in 1985. The roses were reminders for people to vote in favor of the college district.

“Today, that yellow rose serves as a symbol of the hard work and passion invested in the establishment of Collin College,” Dr. Matkin said. “It also stands as a tribute to our founders and our supporters.”

This year’s full-time finalists are: LeAnne Eaton, programmer/analyst at Collin Higher Education Center; Todd Fields, director of Admissions/Registrar at Spring Creek Campus; Gary Hodge, dean of Academic Affairs, Health Sciences and Emergency Services at Central Park Campus; David Malone, coordinator of institutional research at CHEC; and Ginny Topfer, counselor at Preston Ridge Campus. This year’s part-time nominees are: Nicola Luna, instructional design assistant at SCC; Samantha Nunez, data clerk at CPC; and Zahra Soleimani, secretary at SCC.

Winners of the part-time and full-time categories will be named at All College Day, Aug. 12. The winners will receive a crystal award and yellow roses. The full-time winner will receive a reserved parking space on one campus for one year.