Dozens of faculty, staff and administrators gathered at Central Park Campus to honor Collin College’s ROSE (Recognition of Service and Excellence) Award nominees on July 16.

The ROSE Award program recognizes excellence and extraordinary effort by part- and full-time employees who exemplify the college’s values. Speaking at the event, District President Neil Matkin said he appreciates the way the college puts service at the forefront and that the award nominees can take pride in their accomplishment.

“[Your nomination] serves as a symbol of your hard work and your passion,” Dr. Matkin said. “That you invest your efforts in Collin College is a tribute to our founders and our supporters.”

Dr. Matkin went on to speak about his experiences as both a staff member and a faculty member, noting that it takes both working together to make students’ experiences exceptional.

“I think of the staff members who were there for me when I was (a student worker) in college,” he said. “You learn things from staff. You learn things in the way the staff talks to you and treats you.”

Each of the ROSE Award hopefuls was nominated by their fellow employees for making a difference to staff and students alike. The reception was a chance for the nominees to experience the gratitude expressed by their fellow workers.

Two ROSE Award winners – one full-time and one part-time – will be named at All College Day, Wednesday, Aug. 12. The July ceremony served as an opportunity to announce the names of this year’s six ROSE Award finalists.

The part-time employee finalists are: Annette Powell of human resources at the Collin Higher Education Center, Jimmie Dearman of advising at Spring Creek Campus and Steven Anschutz of the audio engineering department at SCC. The full-time employee finalists are: David Drane with operations at CPC, Glenda Strange of the child development lab school at SCC, Jackie Langford of the simulation department at CPC, Julie Youngblood with administrative programming at CHEC and Susan Miller of the testing department at CPC.

All of the finalists were honored with crystal plaques and gift baskets at the ceremony.